The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance

Cover
Penguin, 07.02.2017 - 368 Seiten
5 Rezensionen
"A most valuable book." —Christian Science Monitor

For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners.

While the Nazi party was being condemned by much of the world for burning books, they were already hard at work perpetrating an even greater literary crime. Through extensive new research that included records saved by the Monuments Men themselves—Anders Rydell tells the untold story of Nazi book theft, as he himself joins the effort to return the stolen books. When the Nazi soldiers ransacked Europe’s libraries and bookshops, large and small, the books they stole were not burned. Instead, the Nazis began to compile a library of their own that they could use to wage an intellectual war on literature and history. In this secret war, the libraries of Jews, Communists, Liberal politicians, LGBT activists, Catholics, Freemasons, and many other opposition groups were appropriated for Nazi research, and used as an intellectual weapon against their owners. But when the war was over, most of the books were never returned. Instead many found their way into the public library system, where they remain to this day.

Now, Rydell finds himself entrusted with one of these stolen volumes, setting out to return it to its rightful owner. It was passed to him by the small team of heroic librarians who have begun the monumental task of combing through Berlin’s public libraries to identify the looted books and reunite them with the families of their original owners. For those who lost relatives in the Holocaust, these books are often the only remaining possession of their relatives they have ever held. And as Rydell travels to return the volume he was given, he shows just how much a single book can mean to those who own it.
 

Was andere dazu sagen - Rezension schreiben

Bewertungen von Nutzern

5 Sterne
2
4 Sterne
3
3 Sterne
0
2 Sterne
0
1 Stern
0

LibraryThing Review

Nutzerbericht  - LisaSHarvey - LibraryThing

THE BOOK THIEVES: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance Anders Rydell MY RATING ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ PUBLISHER PENGUIN GROUP Viking PUBLISHED February 7, 2017 ... Vollständige Rezension lesen

LibraryThing Review

Nutzerbericht  - wagner.sarah35 - LibraryThing

Like most familiar with the narrative of the Second World War, I knew that the Nazis had gone on the warpath through Europe, plundering and rounding up Jews to be sent to concentration camps. I also ... Vollständige Rezension lesen

Inhalt

Ghosts at Berliner Stadtbibliothek Berlin
14
Fragments of a People Thessaloniki
173
The Mass Grave Is a Paper Mill Vilnius
188
The Talmud Unit Theresienstadt
218
Jewish Studies Without Jews RatiborFrankfurt
232
A Wagon of Shoes Prague
251
A Book Finds Its Way Home BerlinCannock
286
Acknowledgments
313
Index
337
Urheberrecht

Andere Ausgaben - Alle anzeigen

Häufige Begriffe und Wortgruppen

Über den Autor (2017)

Anders Rydell is a journalist, editor, and author of nonfiction. As the Head of Culture at a major Swedish media group, Rydell directs the coverage of arts and culture in 14 newspapers. His two books on the Nazis, The Book Theives and The Looters, have been translated into 16 languages. The Book Thieves is his first work published in English.
 
Henning Koch was born in Sweden but has spent most of his life in England, Spain, and Sardinia. Most recently he translated A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman. He has also written a short story collection, Love Doesn't Work, and a novel, The Maggot People.


From the Hardcover edition.

Bibliografische Informationen