The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance

Cover
Penguin, 07.02.2017 - 368 Seiten
0 Rezensionen
"A most valuable book." —Christian Science Monitor

For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners.

While the Nazi party was being condemned by much of the world for burning books, they were already hard at work perpetrating an even greater literary crime. Through extensive new research that included records saved by the Monuments Men themselves—Anders Rydell tells the untold story of Nazi book theft, as he himself joins the effort to return the stolen books. When the Nazi soldiers ransacked Europe’s libraries and bookshops, large and small, the books they stole were not burned. Instead, the Nazis began to compile a library of their own that they could use to wage an intellectual war on literature and history. In this secret war, the libraries of Jews, Communists, Liberal politicians, LGBT activists, Catholics, Freemasons, and many other opposition groups were appropriated for Nazi research, and used as an intellectual weapon against their owners. But when the war was over, most of the books were never returned. Instead many found their way into the public library system, where they remain to this day.

Now, Rydell finds himself entrusted with one of these stolen volumes, setting out to return it to its rightful owner. It was passed to him by the small team of heroic librarians who have begun the monumental task of combing through Berlin’s public libraries to identify the looted books and reunite them with the families of their original owners. For those who lost relatives in the Holocaust, these books are often the only remaining possession of their relatives they have ever held. And as Rydell travels to return the volume he was given, he shows just how much a single book can mean to those who own it.
 

Was andere dazu sagen - Rezension schreiben

The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race To Return a Literary Inheritance

Nutzerbericht  - Barbara Hoffert - Book Verdict

The Nazis didn't just burn books. They also looted millions of volumes from Jewish institutions and both public and private libraries, creating their own vast collection as the basis of rewriting ... Vollständige Rezension lesen

Inhalt

Title Page Copyright Dedication Foreword
A Fire That Consumes the World Berlin
Ghosts at Berliner Stadtbibliothek Berlin
Goethes Oak Weimar
Himmlers Library Munich
A Warrior Against Jerusalem Chiemsee
Consolation for the Tribulations of Israel Amsterdam
The Hunt for the Secrets of the Freemasons The Hague
Fragments of a People Thessaloniki
The Mass Grave Is a Paper Mill Vilnius
The Talmud Unit Theresienstadt
Jewish Studies Without Jews RatiborFrankfurt
A Wagon of Shoes Prague
A Book Finds Its Way Home BerlinCannock
Acknowledgments
Notes

Lenin Worked Here Paris
The Lost Library Rome

Andere Ausgaben - Alle anzeigen

Häufige Begriffe und Wortgruppen

Über den Autor (2017)

Anders Rydell is a journalist, editor, and author of nonfiction. As the Head of Culture at a major Swedish media group, Rydell directs the coverage of arts and culture in 14 newspapers. His two books on the Nazis, The Book Theives and The Looters, have been translated into 16 languages. The Book Thieves is his first work published in English.
 
Henning Koch was born in Sweden but has spent most of his life in England, Spain, and Sardinia. Most recently he translated A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman. He has also written a short story collection, Love Doesn't Work, and a novel, The Maggot People.


From the Hardcover edition.

Bibliografische Informationen