Abbildungen der Seite

The Conditions of L III. VI. and VII. are

1. That the faithful confess their sins, with sincere repentance, to a Priest approved by the Bishop.

2. That they worthily receive the Holy Communion.

3. That they visit some chapel or oratory, where Mass is celebrated, and pray to God for the peace of his Church.

i. That they be in a readiness of mind to assist the poor with alms in proportion to their abilities; or to frequent catechism and sermons as often as they can do it without great inconvenience; or to afford their assistance to the sick, or to such as are near their end, out of the motive of Christian charity.

JVbte.—It is not required for the gaining of these four Indulgences, granted by Pope Benedict XIV., that these works of mercy, corporal or spiritual, or the assisting at catechism and sermons, be done on the same day with the communion; but only that persons be then in a disposition or readiness of mind to do these things, or some of them at least, when they have an opportunity.

Tlw Conditions of V. are,

1. That the faithful confess their sins, with sincere repentance, to a Priest approved by the Bishop.

2. That they worthily receive the Holy Communion.

3. That, for some space of time, on the day of their communion, they pray to God with a sincere heart, for the conversion of Infidels and Hereties, and for the free propagation of the Holy Faith.


Provided an infant is in danger of dying before a Priest can be procured, any other person, whether man, woman, or child, may baptise it in the following manner:

Whilst pouring common water on the head or face of the infant, pronounce the words, "I baptise thee in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. Amen."

[ocr errors]

an fttoitrgflrent of dtjristtan Doctrine.


27ie Ten Commandments of God.—Exodus xx.

1. I am the Lord thy God, who brought thee out of the land of Egypt, and out of the house of bondage. Thou shalt not have strange gods before me. Thou shalt not make to thyself a graven thing, nor the likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or in the earth beneath, nor of those things that are in the waters under the earth. Thou shalt not adore them, nor serve them: I am the Lord thy God, mighty, jealous, visiting the iniquity of fathers upon their children, unto the third and fourth generation of those that hate me; and shewing mercy unto thousands of those that love me, and keep my commandments.

2. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain; for the Lord will not hold him guiltless that shall take the name of the Lord his God in vain.

3. Remember that thou keep holy the Sabhath-day. Six days shalt thou labour, and shalt do all thy works; but on the seventh day is the Sabhath of the Lord thy God: thou shalt do no work on it, thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, nor thy man-servant, nor thy maid-servant, nor thy beast, nor the stranger that is within thy gates. For in six days the Lord made heaven and earth, and the sea, and all things that are in them, and rested on the seventh day; therefore the Lord blessed the seventh day, and sanctified it.

4. Honour thy father and thy mother, that thou mayest be long-lived upon the land which the Lord thy God will give thee.

5. Thou shalt not kill.

6. Thou shalt not commit adultery.

7. Thou shalt not steal.

8. Thou Bhalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour.

9. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's wife.

10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's house, nor his servant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is his.

The Six Precepts of the Church.

1. To hear Mass on Sundays, and all holidays of obligation.

2. To fast and abstain on the days commanded.

3. To confess our sins at least once a year.

4. To receive the blessed Eucharist at Easter.

5. To contribute to the support of our pastors.

6. Not to solemnise marriage at the forbidden times; nor to marry persons within the forbidden degrees of kindred, or otherwise prohibited by the Church: nor clandestinely.

Seven Sacraments.

Baptism Matt, xxviii. 19.

Confirmation Acts viii. 17.

Eucharist Matt. xvi. 26.

Penance John xx. 23.

Extreme Unction . . . James v. 14.

Holy Orders Luke xxii. 19.

Matrimony Matt. xix. 6.

The Three Theological Virtues.
Faith—Hope—and Charity.

The Four Cardinal Virtues.
Prudence—Justice—Fortitude—and Temperance.

The Seven Gifts of the Holy Ghost.—Isa. xi. 2, 3.

Wisdom, Fortitude, The fear of the

Understanding, Knowledge, Lord.

Counsel, Piety, and

The Twelve Fruits of the Holy Ghost.

Charity, Longanimity, Fidelity,

Joy, Goodness, Modesty,

Peace, Benignity, Continency, and

Patience, Mildness, Chastity.

« ZurückWeiter »