Hemingway: The Postwar Years and the Posthumous Novels

Cambridge University Press, 26.01.1996 - 250 Seiten
When Ernest Hemingway committed suicide in 1961 he left four unfinished works - A Moveable Feast, Islands in the Stream, The Garden of Eden, and an untitled work on his travels in Africa. The edited versions of the three novels that were published between 1964 and 1986 have been presented to readers and scholars as discrete texts, even though they are disjointed and fit uncomfortably into the body of Hemingway's work. Through extensive literary detective work, Burwell has uncovered substantial evidence which reveals that Hemingway in fact designed the three published works as a trilogy - what she terms "his own portrait of the artist." She combines textual analysis with new biographical information to create a compelling document of a period of Hemingway's life which biographers have barely begun to probe. The result, Professor Burwell demonstrates, is that Hemingway inscribed in the four works he could neither complete nor abandon the life-long gender anxieties he had come to recognize as the legacy of "dangerous families."

Was andere dazu sagen - Rezension schreiben

LibraryThing Review

Nutzerbericht  - jimnicol - LibraryThing

Pretty interesting look starting with the author's research into an ur-text that Hemingway worked on from late forties until his death...out of which came Old Man, Across the River, Moveable Feast and ... Vollständige Rezension lesen

Ausgewählte Seiten


A frame for Hemingways portrait of the artist
Recollections without tranquility
Islands in the Stream
The Garden of Eden
The African book
A Moveable Feast

Andere Ausgaben - Alle anzeigen

Häufige Begriffe und Wortgruppen

Bibliografische Informationen