23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism

Cover
Bloomsbury Publishing USA, 01.01.2010 - 286 Seiten

Thing 1: There is no such thing as free market.
Thing 4: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet.
Thing 5: Assume the worst about people, and you get the worst.
Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer.

If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan.

Chang, the author of the international bestseller Bad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity-and wit-in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz. 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism equips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works-and doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.

Ha-Joon Chang teaches in the Faculty of Economics at the University of Cambridge. His books include the bestselling Bad Samaritans: The Myth of Free Trade and the Secret History of Capitalism. His Kicking Away the Ladder received the 2003 Myrdal Prize, and, in 2005, Chang was awarded the Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought.

 

Was andere dazu sagen - Rezension schreiben

Bewertungen von Nutzern

5 Sterne
7
4 Sterne
12
3 Sterne
0
2 Sterne
0
1 Stern
0

LibraryThing Review

Nutzerbericht  - dougb56586 - LibraryThing

The 23 things of the title are specific criticisms the author makes against “Free Market” economics. I read and enjoyed his earlier book, “Bad Samaritans”. I enjoyed this book as well, but with have ... Vollständige Rezension lesen

LibraryThing Review

Nutzerbericht  - bicyclewriter - LibraryThing

National and world economics is such a confusing thing to normal folks, and this book does a super job of simplifying things in a way that helps the reader see the big picture and the context. The ... Vollständige Rezension lesen

Inhalt

Thing
4
Thing
11
Most people in rich countries are paid more
23
The washing machine has changed
31
Assume the worst about people and
41
Greater macroeconomic stability has
51
Freemarket policies rarely make poor
62
Capital has a nationality
74
Making rich people richer doesnt make
137
People in poor countries are more
157
More education in itself is not going
178
Despite the fall of communism we
199
Big government makes people more
221
23
242
Notes
265
31
269

We do not live in a postindustrial
88
The US does not have the highest living
102
Africa is not destined for underdevelopment
112
Governments can pick winners
125

Andere Ausgaben - Alle anzeigen

Häufige Begriffe und Wortgruppen

Über den Autor (2010)

Ha-Joon Chang teaches in the Faculty of Economics at the University of Cambridge. His books include the international bestseller Bad Samaritans: The Myth of Free Trade and the Secret History of Capitalism and Kicking Away the Ladder, winner of the 2003 Myrdal Prize. In 2005, Chang was awarded the Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought.

Bibliografische Informationen