« ZurückWeiter »
VOLUME XII, 1912
PUBLISHED BY THE
AMERICAN MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY
American Museum of Natural History Seventy-seventh Street and Central Park West, New York City
BOARD OF TRUSTEES
HENRY FAIRFIELD OSBORN Pirst Vice-President
Second Vice-President CLEVELAND H. DODGB
J. PIERPONT MORGAN, JR. Treasures
ADRIAN ISELIN, JR
THE PRESIDENT OF THE DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
A. D. JUILLIARD
J. PIERPONT MORGAN
PERCY R. PYNE
JOHN B. TREVOR
Felix M. WARBURG
GEORGE W. WICKERSHAM
Assistant Secretary FREDERIC A. LUCAS
GEORGE H. SHERWOOD
THE MUSEUM 18 OPEN FREE TO THE PUBLIC ON EVERY DAY IN THE YEAR.
THE AMERICAN MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY was established in 1869 to promote the Natural Sciences and to diffuse a general knowledge of them among the people, and it is in cordial coöperation with all similar institutions throughout the world. The Museum authorities are dependent upon private subscriptions and the dues from members for procuring needed additions to the collections and for carrying on explorations in America and other parts of the world. The membership fees are, Annual Members.... $ 10 Fellows.
$ 500 Sustaining Members (Annual). 25 Patrons.
1000 Life Members.. 100 Associate Benefactors.
10,000 Benefactors (gift or bequest) $50,000 THE MUSEUM LIBRARY contains more than 60,000 volumes with a good working collection of publications issued by scientific institutions and societies in this country and abroad. The library Is open to the public for reference daily Sundays and holidays excepted from 9 A. M. to 5 P. M.
THE MUSEUM PUBLICATIONS are issued in six series: American Museum Journal, Annual Report, Anthropological Papers. Bulletin, Guide Leaflets and Memoirs. Information concerning their sale may be obtained at the Museum library,
GUIDES FOR STUDY OF EXHIBITS are provided on request by the department of public education Teachers wishing to bring classes should write or telephone the department for an appointment, specifying the collection to be studied. Lectures to classes may also be arranged for. In all cases the best results are obtained with small groups of children.
WORKROOMS AND STORAGE COLLECTIONS may be visited by persons presenting membership tickets. The storage collections are open to all persons desiring to examine specimens for special study. Applications should be made at the information desk.
THE MITLA RESTAURANT in the east basement is reached by the elevator and is open from 12 to 5 on all days except Sundays. Afternoon Tea is served from 2 to 5. The Mitla room is of unusual interest as an exhibition hall being an exact reproduction of temple ruins at Mitla, Mexico.
Allen, Dr. J. A., 2
Eskimo, 4, 7, 8, 11, 161, 200, 201, 202, 203
Eskimo snow house, 6, 10
Fish mount, 175, 176
Flamingos, 305, 306, 307, 308
Four-toed horse skeleton, 186
Ghost-fish. Model of Japanese, 173
Giant forest pigs, 242
Giraffe heads, 96, 97
Hagfish (Homea stouti) 173
Hannington, Lake, 304, 308
Harpoon gun, 212
Hartebeest head, 98
Horton River, Summer hunting lodge, 206
Human femur, Locality where found, 183,
Icebergs, 162, 163, 169
Ice pit with water-worn boulders 184,
Kitovi Rookery, St. Paul Island, 132
Korean expedition leaving Chon-Chin, 259;
Korean gun-bearer, 267
La Madeleine, Cliff ruins, 286
Le Chaffaud, Horses from, 290
Le Portel cavern, 283
Les Combarelles cavern, Mammoth from,
Lorthet, Engraving froni cavern of, 294
Lungfish, Living, 226, 251: cocoon of, 252
MacCurdy, Prof. George G., 282
Crocker Land expedition, 84
Korean expedition, Itinerary of, 260
Mariposa Grove, 232
Masks used in mystery plays, Pekin, 135
Mexican burros, 180
Miller, Leo E., 216