« ZurückWeiter »
Titanothere, New Restoration of a. 15-17
U. S. Geological Survey, 39
Seventeen-year Locust Group, 187-189
tion, 195-203 Stefánsson, V., 268, 318 Stefánsson-Anderson Arctic Expedition, 3
13, 195-203, 205, 206, 223, 237, 272, 318 Stone Age, Men of the Old, 278-287 SrDWÜRTH, G. B. Present Condition of the
California Bigtrees, 227-236 Sun Dance Medicine Bundle, 21-25
Vives, Gaston J., 320
Wanamaker, Rodman, 271
289-295; Catlin Paintings, 89-93; Ste.
Medicine Bundle, 24-25 Wissler, Clark, 223
Tahiti, Models of, 39; Songs of, 141-144 Teachers' Day, 268
GEOLOGY AND INVERTEBRATE PALÆONTOLOGY
EDMUND Otis Hovey, Ph.D., Curator
L. P. GRATACAP, A.M., Curator
JOHN A. GROSSBECK, Assistant
Aaron L. TREADWELL, Ph.D., Honorary Curator of Annulata
ICHTHYOLOGY AND HERPETOLOGY
BashFORD DEAN, Ph.D., Curator Louis HUSSAKOF, Ph.D., Associate Curator of Fishes John T. NICHOLS, A.B., Assistant Curator of Recent Fishes Mary Cynthia DICKERSON, B.S., Assistant Curator of Herpetology
MAMMALOGY AND ORNITHOLOGY
J. A. ALLEN, Ph.D., Curator
W. D. MATTHEW, Ph.D., Curator
ALANSON SKINNER, Assistant Curator
ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY
WOODS AND FORESTRY
BOOKS AND PUBLICATIONS
Ralph W. Tower, Ph.D., Curator
GEORGE H. Sherwood, A.M., Curator
AGNES L. ROESLER, Assistant
American Museum of Natural History
BOARD OF TRUSTEES
HENRY FAIRPIELD OSBORN First Vice-President
J. PIERPONT MORGAN, JR.
ARCHER M. HUNTINGTON
THE PRESIDENT OF THE DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
A. D. JUILLIARD
GUSTAV E. KISSEL *
J. PIERPONT MORGAN
PERCY R. PYNE
John B. TREVOR
FELIX M. WARBURG
GEORGE W. WICKERSHAM
GEORGE H. SHERWOOD
THE MUSEUM IS OPEN FREE TO THE PURlic ox EVERY DAY IN THE YEAR.
THE AMERICAN MUSEUM OF NATURAL History was established in 1869 to promote the Natural Sciences and to diffuse a general knowledge of them among the people, and it is in cordial coöperation with all similar institutions throughout the world. The Museum authorities are dependent upon private subscriptions and the dues from members for procuring needed additions to the coilections and for carrying on explorations in America and other parts of the world. The membership fees are. Annual Members. $ 10 Fellows..
$ 500 Sustaining Members (Annual). 25 Patrons.
1000 Life Members..
100 Benefactors (Gift or bequest) 50,000 The Museum LIBRARY contains more than 60,000 volumes with a good working collection of publications issued by scientific institutions and societies in this country and abroad. The library is open to the public for reference daily - Sundays and holidays excepted — from 9 A. M. to 5 P. M.
THE MUNFUM PUBLICATIONS are issued in six series: The American Museum Journal, Annual Report. Anthropological Papers, Bulletins, Guide Leaflets and Memoirs. Information concerning their sale may be obtained at the Museum Library.
GUIDER FOR STUDY OF EXHJBITS are provided on request by the Department of Public Eduration Teachers wishing to bring classes should write or telephone the Department for an appointment. specifying the collection to be studied. Lectures to classes may also be arranged for. In all cases the best results are obtained with small groups of children.
WORKROOMS AND STORAGE COLLECTIONS may be visited by persons presenting membership tickets The storage collections are open to all persons desiring to examine specimens for special study. Applications should be made at the information desk.
The Mitla RESTAURANT in the east basement is reached by the elevator and is open from 12 to 5 on all days except Sundays. Afternoon Tea is served from 2 to 5. The Mitla Room is of unusual interest as an exhibition hall being an exact reproduction of temple ruins at Mitla, Mexico.
The American Museum Journal
CONTENTS FOR JANUARY, 1912
Methods of obtaining the pear) clams; market value of shells and pearls
MARY CYNTHIA DICKERSON, Editor
Subscription, One Dollar per year.
Fifteen cents per copy
A subscription to the JOURNAL is included in the membership fees of all classes of Members of
Subscriptions should be addressed to the AMERICAN MUSEUM JOURNAL, 30 Bolyston St.,
Cambridge, Mass., or 77th St. and Central Park West, New York City
Entered as second-class matter January 12, 1907, at the Post-Omce at Boston, Mass.
Act of Congress, July 16, 1894