Abbildungen der Seite
PDF
EPUB

105

HOUSES OF WORSHIP.

The first House of Worship was erected on State Street, A.D. 1632.

The second was built on Cornhill, A.D. 1639; and was consumed by fire, Oct. 2, 1711. Rebuilt on the same spot, A.D. 1713, and for many years known as the Brick."

66 Old

The fourth, or present Meeting-house, erected in Chauncy Place, A.D. 1808.

MINISTERS

OF THE FIRST CHURCH.

[merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]

JOHN WILSON

. Installed as Teacher, Aug. 27, 1630

Minister, Nov. 23, 1632
JOHN COTTON

Oct. 17, 1633
JOHN NORTON

July 23, 1656
JOHN DAVENPORT.

Dec. 9, 1668
JAMES ALLEN

Dec. 9, 1668
JOHN OXENBRIDGE

April 10, 1670
JOSHUA MOODY

Assistant, May 3, 1684
JOHN BAILEY

July 17, 1693
BENJAMIN WADSWORTH.

ordained Sept. 8, 1696
Chosen President of Harvard College, 1725.
THOMAS BRIDGE

installed May 10, 1705
THOMAS FOXCROFT

ordained Nov. 20, 1717
CHARLES CHAUNCEY, D.D.

Oct. 25, 1727
JOHN CLARK, D.D.

July 8, 1778
WILLIAM EMERSON

installed Oct. 16, 1799
JOHN L. ABBOT

ordained July 14, 1813 NATHANIEL L. FROTHINGHAM, D.D.

Mar. 15, 1815
RUFUS ELLIS

installed May 4, 1853.

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small]

BOSTON.

PRINTED BY JOIN WILSON AND SON,

22, SCHOOL STREET.

[ocr errors]
« ZurückWeiter »