The Seasons of Beento Blackbird: A Novel

Little, Brown, 1996 - 367 Seiten
7 Rezensionen
The Seasons of Beento Blackbird marks the debut of Akosua Busia, an exciting and passionate new novelist. It is the story of Solomon Wilberforce, a magnetic and brilliant man who writes bestselling children's books under the name Beento Blackbird and who has dedicated himself to educating the far-flung children of African descent about their glorious heritage. And it is also the story of the three women who love him: Miriam, the Caribbean midwife who delivered him into the world when she was nine years old; Samantha, his beautiful, talented, and utterly modern New York book agent; and Ashia, an innocent woman-child who awaits him in her native village in Ghana. Solomon spends one season a year with each of these very different women. But when a family tragedy brings him to New York out of season, he finds that the neat compartments that once separated Miriam, Sam, and Ashia begin to fold in on one another. In a life that was once ordered by the cadence of nature itself, suddenly nothing is certain - and Solomon and the women he loves will never be the same again.

Was andere dazu sagen - Rezension schreiben

Bewertungen von Nutzern

5 Sterne
4 Sterne
3 Sterne
2 Sterne
1 Stern


Nutzerbericht  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

A debut novel that could be a moveable feast of blackness and love as it moves across cultural and geographic boundaries is undercut by New Age clichÇs, Afrocentric politics, and an insufferably smug ... Vollständige Rezension lesen

LibraryThing Review

Nutzerbericht  - rmostman - LibraryThing

A children's author, Solomon loves his women and loves love. One of his wives lives on a lush island in the Carribbean. She is an easy-going and sensitive soul, a very likable character though very ... Vollständige Rezension lesen

Andere Ausgaben - Alle anzeigen

Bibliografische Informationen