Sidetracked: Why Our Decisions Get Derailed, and How We Can Stick to the Plan

Cover
Harvard Business Press, 12.02.2013 - 256 Seiten
You may not realize it but simple, irrelevant factors can have profound consequences on your decisions and behavior, often diverting you from your original plans and desires. Sidetracked will help you identify and avoid these influences so the decisions you make do stick—and you finally reach your intended goals.

Psychologist and Harvard Business School professor Francesca Gino has long studied the factors at play when judgment and decision making collide with the results of our choices in real life. In this book she explores inconsistent decisions played out in a wide range of circumstances—from our roles as consumers and employees (what we buy, how we manage others) to the choices that we make more broadly as human beings (who we date, how we deal with friendships). From Gino’s research, we see when a mismatch is most likely to occur between what we want and what we end up doing. What factors are likely to sway our decisions in directions we did not initially consider? And what can we do to correct for the subtle influences that derail our decisions? The answers to these and similar questions will help you negotiate similar factors when faced with them in the real world.

For fans of Dan Ariely and Daniel Kahneman, this book will help you better understand the nuances of your decisions and how they get derailed—so you have more control over keeping them on track.
 

Was andere dazu sagen - Rezension schreiben

Es wurden keine Rezensionen gefunden.

Inhalt

What Gets Us Off Track?
1
Forces from Within
15
Better Than Mother Teresa
17
The Unreliable Motorcycle Racer
41
What the Cracked Pot Couldnt See
63
Forces from Our Relationships
85
How to Draw an E on Your Forehead
87
The Curse of the Gray TShirt
107
Theyre Not as Dumb as You Think They Are
153
Traveling to Europe on Pudding
175
Cheaters in Sunglasses
199
Conclusion
223
Notes
233
Bibliography
243
Acknowledgments
249
Index
253

The Power of Stickers
129
Forces from the Outside
151
About the Author
261
Urheberrecht

Andere Ausgaben - Alle anzeigen

Häufige Begriffe und Wortgruppen

Über den Autor (2013)

Francesca Gino is Professor of Business Administration at Harvard Business School. Her research focuses on judgment and decision making, ethics, productivity, and creativity. Her studies have been featured on CNN and NPR, as well as in leading print publications, including the Economist, the Financial Times, the New York Times, Newsweek, Scientific American, and Psychology Today. In 2009 the New York Times featured Gino’s research in the 9th Annual Year in Ideas. In 2015 she was chosen by Poets & Quants as one of the "Best 40 Under 40 Professors,” a ranking of the world’s top business school professors under the age of forty.

Bibliografische Informationen