In Pursuit of Silence: Listening for Meaning in a World of Noise

Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, 06.04.2010 - 224 Seiten
3 Rezensionen
More than money, power, and even happiness, silence has become the most precious—and dwindling—commodity of our modern world. 
Between iPods, music-blasting restaurants, earsplitting sports stadiums, and endless air and road traffic, the place for quiet in our lives grows smaller by the day.  In Pursuit of Silence gives context to our increasingly desperate sense that noise pollution is, in a very real way, an environmental catastrophe.  Listening to doctors, neuroscientists, acoustical engineers, monks, activists, educators, marketers, and aggrieved citizens, George Prochnik examines why we began to be so loud as a society, and what it is that gets lost when we can no longer find quiet.  He shows us the benefits of decluttering our sonic world. 
As Prochnik travels across the United States and overseas, we meet a rich host of characters: an idealistic architect who is pioneering a new kind of silent architecture in collaboration with the Deaf community at Gallaudet University; a special operations soldier in Afghanistan (and former guitarist with Nirvana) who places silence at the heart of survival in war; a sound designer for shopping malls who ensures that the stores we visit never stop their auditory seductions; and a group of commuters who successfully revolted against piped-in music in Grand Central Station.
A brilliant, far-reaching exploration of the frontiers of noise and silence, and the growing war between them, In Pursuit of Silence is an important book that will appeal to fans of Michael Pollan and Daniel Gilbert.

From the Hardcover edition.

Was andere dazu sagen - Rezension schreiben

LibraryThing Review

Nutzerbericht  - quantum_flapdoodle - LibraryThing

The author sets out to look for silence in a world that is getting increasingly noisier. The premise is interesting, and the idea of silence is appealing, but the book really doesn't satisfy. It is a ... Vollständige Rezension lesen

LibraryThing Review

Nutzerbericht  - paulsignorelli - LibraryThing

George Prochnik’s exquisite book "In Pursuit of Silence: Listening for Meaning in a World of Noise" finds the author writing eloquently about his own quest for silence in a world he finds ... Vollständige Rezension lesen


Why e Hear
Silent Interlude
Thc Dragon Trap 135

Andere Ausgaben - Alle anzeigen

Häufige Begriffe und Wortgruppen

Über den Autor (2010)

GEORGE PROCHNIK is the author of Putnam Camp: Sigmund Freud, James Jackson Putnam, and the Purpose of American Psychology, a New York Times “Editor’s Choice” pick and winner of a 2007 Gradiva Award. He has written for the New York Times, the Boston Globe, Playboy, and Cabinet magazine, among other publications. He lives in Brooklyn.

From the Hardcover edition.

Bibliografische Informationen