Are You There Alone?: The Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates

Cover
Simon and Schuster, 02.02.2004 - 304 Seiten
8 Rezensionen
In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Executioner's Song, and A Civil Action, Suzanne O'Malley exposes the human mystery of the most horrifying crime in recent history and the legal drama surrounding it.
As a journalist, Suzanne O'Malley began covering the murders of Noah, John, Paul, Luke, and Mary Yates hours after their mother, Andrea Yates, drowned them in their suburban Houston home in June 2001. Over twenty-four months, O'Malley interviewed or witnessed the sworn testimony of more than a hundred participants in this drama, including Yates herself; her husband, Rusty Yates; their families; attorneys; the personnel of the Harris County district attorney's and sheriff's offices; medical staff; friends; acquaintances; and expert witnesses.
O'Malley argues persuasively that under less extraordinary circumstances, a mentally ill woman would have been quietly offered a plea bargain and sent to an institution under court supervision. But on March 12, 2002, Andrea Yates was found guilty of the murders of three of her five children. She is currently serving a life sentence and will not be eligible for parole until 2041.
O'Malley's exclusive personal communications with Andrea Yates and her interviews with Rusty Yates allow her to offer fully realized portrayals of people at the center of this horrifying case.
In "Are You There Alone?" O'Malley makes a critical contribution to our understanding of mental health issues within the criminal justice system.
 

Was andere dazu sagen - Rezension schreiben

Bewertungen von Nutzern

5 Sterne
2
4 Sterne
4
3 Sterne
1
2 Sterne
1
1 Stern
0

LibraryThing Review

Nutzerbericht  - carfor12 - LibraryThing

This book had me waffling many times between anger at Andrea Yates, for her brutal drowning of her five children, and anger at her husband, Rusty, for doing nothing, or almost nothing, so it seemed ... Vollständige Rezension lesen

LibraryThing Review

Nutzerbericht  - justablondemoment - LibraryThing

As far as a reporting of facts go this book was spot on. The author was well researched and her devotion to the case was clear. But dry, dry, dry this book was for reading. Many times I wanted to put it away but kept hoping the writing style would change. It didn't and I was very disappointed. Vollständige Rezension lesen

Inhalt

The Prophecy
1
Rocket Fuel
26
The Apocalypse
42
Thursday
59
The Catchers and the Keepers
61
Five Small Coffins
67
Jailed
75
The Death of a Butterfly
97
The Killer Rooms
127
Trial by Error
136
Slow Guilty
213
Heartbreakers
222
A Sinister Stew
230
Eternity
243
Acknowledgments
263
Interview List
267

The Full Extent
110
Four Days to Sanity
115
Other Voices
120
Testimony List
270
Index
273
Urheberrecht

Andere Ausgaben - Alle anzeigen

Häufige Begriffe und Wortgruppen

Verweise auf dieses Buch

Alle Ergebnisse von Google Books »

Über den Autor (2004)

Suzanne O'Malley's investigative reports on the Yates trial appeared in the New York Times Magazine; O, The Oprah Magazine; and on Dateline NBC. She has written for the New York Times Book Review, Esquire, Harper's Bazaar, Salon.com, and Texas Monthly, and has been a producer and consultant for NBC and MSNBC. She is a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of the University of Texas at Austin. She lives in New York City and Houston. Visit www.suzanneomalley.com.

Bibliografische Informationen