23 Things They Don't Tell You about Capitalism

Cover
Penguin, 2011 - 286 Seiten
17 Rezensionen

Thing 1: There is no such thing as free market.
Thing 4: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet.
Thing 5: Assume the worst about people, and you get the worst.
Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer.
If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan.
Chang, the author of the international bestseller "Bad Samaritans," is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity-and wit-in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz. "23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism" equips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works-and doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.
Ha-Joon Chang teaches in the Faculty of Economics at the University of Cambridge. His books include the bestselling "Bad Samaritans: The Myth of Free Trade" and the "Secret History of Capitalism." His "Kicking Away the Ladder" received the 2003 Myrdal Prize, and, in 2005, Chang was awarded the Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought.

Was andere dazu sagen - Rezension schreiben

Bewertungen von Nutzern

5 Sterne
7
4 Sterne
10
3 Sterne
0
2 Sterne
0
1 Stern
0

LibraryThing Review

Nutzerbericht  - bicyclewriter - LibraryThing

National and world economics is such a confusing thing to normal folks, and this book does a super job of simplifying things in a way that helps the reader see the big picture and the context. The ... Vollständige Rezension lesen

LibraryThing Review

Nutzerbericht  - 2wonderY - LibraryThing

Tries to give you a bit of the rest of the story beyond the commonly understood beliefs about capitalism. I find it interesting that another reviewer labels the myths Chang addresses as neo-liberal, and I would identify them as free-market conservative. Vollständige Rezension lesen

Andere Ausgaben - Alle anzeigen

Über den Autor (2011)

Born in South Korea, No 1 International Bestselling Author Ha-Joon Chang is a specialist in development economics and Reader in the Political Economy of Development at the University of Cambridge. In 2005, Chang was awarded the Wassily Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought. He is author of Kicking Away the Ladder: Development Strategy in Historical Perspective (2002), which won the 2003 Gunnar Myrdal Prize, and Bad Samaritans: Rich Nations, Poor Policies and the Threat to the Developing World (2007). Since the beginning of the 2008 economic crisis, he has been a regular contributor to the Guardian, and a vocal critic of the failures of our economic system.

Bibliografische Informationen